Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

MotionPlus tech not exclusive to Nintendo

Fri 08 Aug 2008 11:26am GMT / 7:26am EDT / 4:26am PDT
Hardware

Maker says there's "more interest out there"

InvenSense, the company that makes the MotionPlus accessory, has told Eurogamer the relationship with Nintendo is "not an exclusive" one.

Joe Virginia, VP of wireless business and corporate communications, says other companies are interested in the tech - but he's not naming any names.

"Of course we're incredibly pleased - delighted would probably be a better adjective - that Nintendo approached us... but it's not an exclusive relationship," said Virginia. "I can't get into details about other folks that are interested in this technology, but as you might imagine of course there is more interest out there."

The clip-in Wii peripheral adds a MEMS [Micro Electrical Mechanical Systems] rate gyroscope to the Wiimote. This allows rotation around the X, Y, and Z axes produced by the accelerometer.

When asked if the technology will open doors for Wii developers, Virginia replied, "Oh absolutely. Yeah, absolutely. And the reason we say that is the type of capabilities they have."

"With six degrees of freedom you can basically make any movement at all, and be able to track that in combination with the sensor bar and other sensors included in the Wii remote. Add the gyroscope capability and you have the ability to work in all three dimensions of space," Virginia continued.

Nintendo is yet to set a standalone price for MotionPlus, but will be bundling the peripheral with Wii Sports Resort - the game used to demonstrate gyroscopic potential during Nintendo's E3 press conference.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now