Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Moore "disappointed" by Home delay

Thu 08 May 2008 6:35am GMT / 2:35am EDT / 11:35pm PDT
People

Former Xbox boss takes swipe at Sony for delaying its Home service for PlayStation 3

Former Xbox boss and current EA Sports president Peter Moore took a swipe at an old sparring partner this week, expressing dismay at the ongoing delay of Sony's Home service for the PlayStation 3.

The EA Sports president's comments came less than 24 hours after Sony Computer Entertainment boss Kaz Hirai apologised for the latest delay to Sony's ambitious online social networking project.

Our sister site Eurogamer.net asked Moore whether he was interested in working with Home now that he was no longer a direct rival.

"Yeah; I just wish it would ship," he answered.

"I [previously] questioned it a little bit, whether I'd want to wander around there. Phil Harrison showed me a demo – it's very cool, but let's go already. And so I'm disappointed that it's been pushed back a little bit again.

"But I really hope it gets going and becomes that portal to the PlayStation Network and we can utilise it. But boy, I just wish we'd get going."

Home will allow PS3 users to create their own virtual avatar and living space, encouraging interaction with Sony's online community. It is now scheduled for an autumn release.

"We've been testing Home for some time and I simply feel that as great as Home currently is, it needs a little bit more time before it's ready for the wider public - something we firmly believe we can provide in the autumn," Hirai said as he explained the delay at an event in London earlier this week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now