Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Modern Warfare 2 surpasses $1bn in retail sales

Wed 13 Jan 2010 1:46pm GMT / 8:46am EST / 5:46am PST
BusinessRetailPublishing

Activision and Infinity Ward shooter passes sales milestone

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision's Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has surpassed $1 billion in retail sales worldwide since launch in November.

In its first five days on sale the game made an estimated $550 million worldwide, out-pacing theatrical gross figures of movies such as The Dark Knight, Avatar and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, according to Activision.

"Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 has exceeded our expectations and shattered theatrical box office and videogame records," offered Robert Kotick, CEO of Activision Blizzard.

"There are only a handful of entertainment properties that have ever reached the $1 billion mark, which illustrates the power of the Call of Duty franchise and mass appeal of this game."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now