Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

MMOs don't have to look worse than 1P titles, says Macdonald

Wed 18 Jun 2008 3:21pm GMT / 11:21am EDT / 8:21am PDT
Development

Realtime World's studio manager thinks APB will buck the trend of MMOs not looking as good as single-player titles

MMOs can look just as good as any single-player titles, according to Realtime World's Colin Macdonald.

During a presentation at the GameHorizon conference in Newcastle in which he demonstrated APB's character customisation system, the studio manager said he was disappointed that gamers often assume MMOs won't look as good as single-player games.

"There's a misconception among MMOs that they don't need to look as good as other games," Macdonald said.

"We think that when people look at a screenshot of APB they won't think 'It's not so good, it must be an online game' - they won't know."

Earlier this year, Realtime Worlds bought back the global distribution rights to its forthcoming online game APB after a USD 50 million second round of funding.

"Owning the distribution rights to APB marks a major milestone in Realtime Worlds' evolution into a premier online entertainment company," founder and CEO David Jones said at the time.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now