Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Mitch Lasky speaks out against "state regulation" of videogames

Thu 10 Jul 2008 4:14pm GMT / 12:14pm EDT / 9:14am PDT
Politics

Former EA, Activision and Jamdat exec weighs in on the ratings debate

Newly-installed Riot Games board member Mitch Lasky, who formerly held key positions at both Activision and EA before founding mobile games company Jamdat, has told GamesIndustry.biz that he believes self-regulation is important for the videogames industry.

In the US the ESRB has been largely effective in the regulation of age ratings for videogames, but PEGI and the BBFC are currently embroiled in a debate as to who is better placed to carry out that role in the UK.

I believe strongly in the existing ratings structure, which could be strengthened by better enforcement of violations," he said. "State regulation of content, even for the necessary protection of children, is a dangerous path.

"The industry has the power and incentive to police itself," he added.

Riot Games today announced USD 7 million in funding to complete its first title, details of which will be announced in the next few months.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now