Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mint PSP spurs Japanese sales

Fri 07 Mar 2008 9:01am GMT / 4:01am EST / 1:01am PST

The Sony PlayStation Portable has leapfrogged the Nintendo platforms in the latest Japanese hardware sales chart with the release of the new mint green edition of the handheld.

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

The Sony PlayStation Portable has leapfrogged the Nintendo platforms in the latest Japanese hardware sales chart with the release of the new mint green edition of the handheld.

The new colour saw an additional 20,000 units sold over the previous week, bringing it up to almost 74,000 for the week ending March 2, according to Media Create.

The Nintendo Wii - last week's best-seller - had to settle for second place with 64,500 units sold, while the Nintendo DS remained in third place.

The other three consoles all saw sales remain mostly flat from the previous week, with the PlayStation 3 selling 13,500 units, the PlayStation 2 shifting almost 11,000, and the Xbox 360 selling around 2300.

The full sales breakdown is as follows:

1. PlayStation Portable: 73,706
2. Nintendo Wii: 64,535
3. Nintendo DS: 51,922
4. PlayStation 3: 13,520
5. PlayStation 2: 10,986
6. Xbox 360: 2282

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now