Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Mind Candy CEO confirmed for Edinburgh Interactive Festival

Mon 17 May 2010 3:20pm GMT / 11:20am EDT / 8:20am PDT
EventsOnline

Michael Acton Smith to host session on social gaming

Mind Candy founder and CEO Michael Acton Smith is to host a session focusing on social gaming at this year's Edinburgh Interactive Festival.

The creator of Moshi Monsters, a children's social game which now has over 20 million registered users, will host a session entitled "How to Make a Monster: Lessons Learned in Creating a Social Gaming Phenomenon" at the event.

It will detail the lessons learned by Mind Candy during the creation of Moshi Monsters, how traffic was acquired and which acquisition channels have been the most effective.

"Attendees will hear the warts and all story of how we built Moshi Monsters from scratch into a highly profitable online game with 20 million users in a little over two years," said Acton Smith.

"We'll share the many mistakes we made along the way, as well as the elements we got right. The lessons will be valuable for anyone building social games, whether in the kids or adult space."

The Edinburgh Interactive Festival will take place on August 25-26. Its schedule will include speakers from across gaming, social networking, mobile entertainment and education.

The 2010 programme is still currently open for submissions from developers, publishers and game creators interested in showcasing their content as part of 2010's festival.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now