Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Midway games removed from XBLA

Thu 18 Feb 2010 9:51am GMT / 4:51am EST / 1:51am PST
Publishing

Publisher rights issues lead to games being taken off service

Xbox Live community director Major Nelson has said that Midway's Xbox Live Aracde games have been removed from the service following issues with publisher rights and permissions.

In a Twitter post, Nelson said: "Some XBLA titles are no longer available for purchase from Xbox Live Arcade due to publisher evolving rights and permissions."

The list of titles named by Nelson were Cyberball, Defender, Paperboy, Rootbeer Tapper, Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3, Robotron, Joust, Gauntlet and Smash TV.

"If you purchased any of those titles... you will still be able to play them or re-download 'em. And no, it's not Game Room related," Nelson added in a later post.

Midway filed for bankruptcy in February last year and the majority of its assets were bought by Warner Bros.

However, the London and Paris arms of the business were taken over by former exec Martin Spiess, who rebranded the company with Midway's former title, Tradewest Games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now