Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Midway Chicago lays off staff

Thu 13 Nov 2008 8:50am GMT / 3:50am EST / 12:50am PST
Business

Employees let go following completion of Blitz and Mortal Kombat games

Midway Chicago has laid of between 20 and 30 staff following the completion of its latest titles in the Blitz and Mortal Kombat franchises.

Earlier this week, the company revealed losses of USD 76 million for the third quarter and the resignation of chairperson Shari Redstone.

"This fall, the Chicago studio shipped two major frontline games — Blitz and soon MK — and also wrapped up remote support for TNA," explained the publisher to Kotaku.

"As large projects are completed, it is expected for any multi-team studio to evaluate the appropriate staffing levels and team composition needed going forward. As a result, a small number of employees here in Chicago have been impacted and others reassigned.

The statement added: "No other changes are being made at this time. Our Chicago studio will continue to be the home of the Mortal Kombat team, and we have several support groups and major prototype teams working in the facility as well."

Earlier this year, Midway closed its LA studio and relocated a number of employees to San Diego.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now