Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft's Flight Sim studio hit by lay-offs

Fri 23 Jan 2009 9:20am GMT / 4:20am EST / 1:20am PST
Business

Bulk of 1400 immediate jobs cuts to come from Entertainment and Devices division?

Microsoft Flight Simulator studio ACES is one of the first outfits to be hit significantly by yesterday's planned job cuts.

According to Gamasutra, a majority of staff, if not all, have been made redundant. The Flight Simulator franchise has been running since 1982, and boasted a dedicated modding community.

In addition, a report by Microsoft blogger Mary-Jo Foley suggests that the bulk of the 1400 immediate job cuts announced yesterday are to come from the Entertinament and Devices division – responsible for Xbox 360, Zune and Windows Mobile businesses.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now