Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft to increase 360 Arcade price in UK, retailers confirm

Mon 17 Aug 2009 11:26am GMT / 7:26am EDT / 4:26am PDT
Retail

Platform price to be raised to counteract poor pound-to-Euro exchange rate

Retailers have told Eurogamer that Microsoft will increase the price of the Arcade Xbox 360 bundle to GBP 159.99 (from GBP 129.99) starting September 1. The five XBLA games will no longer be included in the bundle, either.

ShopTo boss Igor Cipolletta received confirmation from Microsoft this morning, as did a corroborating independent retail chain source.

Eurogamer was also told that Microsoft will increase the price of individual Xbox 360 accessories by one or two pounds. An independent retail source said this was being done to counteract the poor pound-to-Euro currency exchange rate.

Furthermore, the email from Microsoft to retailers mentioned only Arcade and Elite bundles, which also strengthens recent rumours the Premium Xbox 360 bundle is to be discontinued.

Microsoft has been contacted and GamesIndustry.biz is awaiting comment on the price increase.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now