Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft: Kinect won't kill off core games

Mon 14 Jun 2010 4:11pm GMT / 12:11pm EDT / 9:11am PDT
Hardware

"We're not taking our entire platform and making everything controller-free", says Greenberg

Microsoft's director of product management for Xbox, Aaron Greenberg, has assuaged fears that the imminent arrival of Kinect means the 360 will transform into a casual platform.

"The nice thing for us is that we have diversity," Greenberg told IGN. "We're not in any way saying that we're not going to continue to do the best or focus on the blockbuster games that make Xbox great for gamers."

"We're going to continue to invest in Live and the online community there. This is additive, on top of what we already have… we're not taking our entire platform and making everything controller-free."

More details on the former Project Natal, its pricing and its launch games (not to mention hopeful confirmation of the rumoured slimline 360 SKU) are expected at Microsoft's hotly-anticipated pre-E3 briefing, which is due to commence in less than an hour. Stay tuned to GamesIndustry.biz for highlights and analysis.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

945 161 0.2
I somewhat didn't expect Kinect to 'kill off core games' even if it tried.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now