Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft has experimented with 3D games, reveals Satchell

Thu 03 Jul 2008 3:10pm GMT / 11:10am EDT / 8:10am PDT
Hardware

XNA's general manager says the company has tested the technology but thinks it may face mainstream resistance

XNA's general manager, Chris Satchell, has revealed that Microsoft has experimented with 3D - or stereoscopic - games.

Speaking exclusively to GamesIndustry.biz, Satchell said the technology was "extremely interesting" and that Microsoft has experimented with it but said the requirement to wear headgear will hamper its widespread acceptance.

"This is a very interesting area of graphics technology. We have done experiments with this at Microsoft and the results are extremely interesting. However, the current systems that work well require wearing active shutter glasses and I think it is hard to be mainstream with asking people to wear headgear to play games," he said.

"There is some very interesting technology being developed that can overcome this obstacle and it will be interesting to see where this leads. So, some way to go yet. I love that some developers are experimenting along this path. It is a great way to move industry technology forward."

Satchell's comments follow an earlier announcement by Ubisoft's CEO Yves Guillemot that the publisher was working on a series of 3D titles, including the game for James Cameron's upcoming 3D movie Avatar.

A full interview with Chris Satchell will be available on GamesIndustry.biz tomorrow.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now