Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft: Halo 3: ODST disc error "not widespread"

Tue 29 Sep 2009 7:59am GMT / 3:59am EDT / 12:59am PDT
Development

Only a small number of players reportedly affected by undetermined problem

Microsoft has issued a statement downplaying the Halo 3: ODST "Unreadable Disc" reports that surfaced last week.

"We are aware of a very small number of people who are reporting they can't play the game," the platform holder told Eurogamer.

"We are looking into it, but at this point it doesn't appear to be a widespread issue."

A 35-page thread reporting the issue on the Bungie forums has now spread to over 60 pages with members still frustrated at the lack of communication from either developer or publisher.

The disc-read error occurs on some Xbox 360s during the Halo 3: ODST's campaign, rendering the game unplayable from thereon out. Other games, including Halo 3, are reportedly affected as collateral, and there are even mentions of hardware problems following the error.

Bungie is busy gathering data from those affected.

Despite the problems, Halo 3: ODST went straight to number one in the UK chart yesterday after selling 64 per cent of its week one total within the first 24 hours.

1 Comment

Jim Webb Executive Editor/Community Director, E-mpire Ltd. Co.

2,270 2,439 1.1
Robert, nice highlight image of a Blu-ray disc next to a Microsoft focused article. It definitely made me come in and read the article.

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Jim Webb on 29th September 2009 7:25pm

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now