Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Microsoft: GTA IV has 40 per cent attach rate with new consoles

Mon 12 May 2008 7:36am GMT / 3:36am EDT / 12:36am PDT
Retail

More US data released following claims of majority sales on Xbox 360

Microsoft has said that during the first week on sale, 40 per cent of new Xbox 360's were sold with a copy of Rockstar's Grand Theft Auto IV.

The news comes days after Microsoft revealed other significant sales figures claiming 60 per cent of software sales were of the Xbox 360 version, and that the spike pushed hardware sales by 54 per cent.

"The game is attaching well to new consoles, roughly 40 per cent of 360s going out the door had a copy of GTA IV going with them," said a spokesperson on the Major Nelson podcast.

Chart Track data in the UK shows that 514,000 Xbox 360 copies of Grand Theft Auto IV were sold in its first week, while 413,000 copies sold were of the PlayStation 3 SKU.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now