Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Microsoft games revenues fall by 3%

Fri 24 Jul 2009 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
Finance

Price reductions hit even as fiscal year saw 11.2 million Xbox 360s sold

Following Microsoft's headline financial numbers, in which overall revenue, profit and earnings per share fell year-on-year, it's emerged that the Entertainment and Devices division was no exception to the trend.

Revenue for the twelve months to the end of June fell by USD 453 million (5.6 per cent) while operating income dropped by USD 328 million (66.0 per cent).

In the last three months alone revenue fell by USD 401 million (25.2 per cent) although the division's operating loss fell by USD 41 million year-on-year (24.0 per cent).

Specifically, Xbox 360 and PC game revenue fell by USD 161 million (3 per cent), although the company cited the price drops as a key reason why that dropped on a per console basis, despite the fact that console shipments were up from 8.7 million in fiscal 2008 to 11.2 million in fiscal 2009.

The company did note that the reduction in revenue due to those price cuts was also partly offset by Xbox Live revenue, but didn't disclose specific numbers.

The corporation's share price was up by 3.1 per cent to USD 25.56 at close yesterday, but fell sharply by 6.9 per cent to USD 23.80 in after hours trading.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now