Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft confirms new Euro Xbox 360 prices

Tue 16 Sep 2008 7:18am GMT / 3:18am EDT / 12:18am PDT
Hardware

Arcade to retail for 129, Premium for 169 and Elite at 229

Microsoft has confirmed that the Xbox 360 is to receive a price cut in Europe, with the Arcade unit now selling for GBP 129.99 / EUR 179.99.

The new price points come into effect September 19, with the Premium unit complete with 60GB hard drive selling for GBP 169.99 / EUR 239.99 and the Xbox 360 Elite for GBP 229.99 / EUR 299.99.

"Xbox 360 has now sold over 20 million consoles worldwide and due to its unprecedented success, we are now able to pass on the rewards of that success to the consumer with a new retail pricing from 129.99," commented Neil Thompson, senior regional director for Microsoft UK.

"With more games, more entertainment with Xbox Live and now even more value, we are looking forward to welcoming more customers into the leading next generation console, Xbox 360."

News of the price cuts appeared last week, when a scan supposedly from Woolworths' Christmas catalogue revealed new price points for the home console, although the retailer refused to comment on the images.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now