Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Microsoft and Yahoo rejected Steam, says Valve

Wed 30 Apr 2008 7:00am GMT / 3:00am EDT / 12:00am PDT
OnlineDevelopment

The developer's VP of marketing explains how Valve approached various companies to build its gaming platform

GamesIndustry.biz has learnt that Valve approached Microsoft and Yahoo - among others - to build Steam before deciding to develop it themselves.

Speaking in an interview, Valve's VP of marketing Doug Lombardi, described how the developer tried to convince other companies to build the gaming platform but was repeatedly rejected.

"You know, we went around to Yahoo, Microsoft...and anybody who seemed like a likely candidate to build something like Steam," he explained.

"We basically had our feature list that we wanted. We wanted auto-updating, we wanted better anti-piracy, better anti-cheat, and selling the games over the wire was something we came up with later.

"We went around to everybody and asked 'Are you guys doing anything like this?' And everyone was like 'That's a million miles in the future...We can't help you.'"

Steam now serves as a digital distribution platform selling over 300 titles and hosts a gaming community with over 14 million accounts.

GamesIndustry.biz'full interview with Doug Lombardi is now available.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now