Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Metal Gear Solid 4 to boost Konami profits 88 per cent

Fri 31 Oct 2008 4:44pm GMT / 12:44pm EDT / 9:44am PDT
Finance

Publisher anticipates big rewards from sales of PS3 exclusive title

Konami is expecting its financial results for the first six months of the fiscal year to see a rise in profits of 88 per cent, to JPY 11.8 billion.

PlayStation 3 exclusive Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is singled out as central to the massive boost, as well as arcade and card game products.

The company anticipates operating income to rise 74.8 per cent to JPY 22.8 billion, and revenues to be up 9.8 per cent to JPY 146.9 billion, compared to the same period last year.

Full financial results are to be released next week.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,244 2,212 1.0
So a pre-tax profit of only $232,000 USD from revenue of $1.5 billion? What in the world did Konami spend all that money on already?

Or is the operating income supposed to be 22.8 billion JPY instead of million?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now