Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Metal Gear Online Championship at TGS

Wed 16 Jul 2008 10:28pm GMT / 6:28pm EDT / 3:28pm PDT

Konami announces Tokyo Game Show competition and details upcoming MGOnline expansion packs

During today's E3 press conference, Konami Digital Entertainment announced the details of the Metal Gear Online World Championship 2008, which will take place at Tokyo Game Show in October.

The competition is open to the best players in North America, Europe, Japan and Greater Asia. Top teams from regional championships in all four territories will receive all expenses paid trips to the finals in Tokyo, Japan.

Konami will kick off the event by hosting an exhibition tournament at the San Diego ComiCon next week, with details on the regional championships to be announced at a later date.

The company also announced that two MGOnline expansion packs - Gene Expansion and Gene Expansion Plus - will be available for download on July 17 for USD 11.99 and 14.99, respectively.

Three new maps, two special characters (Meryl Silverburgh and Johnny Akiba), a survival mode and a customisable female character will be part of the Gene Expansion. The "Plus" edition includes an extra character slot.

Konami also announced that it will launch MGOnline Reward Points and an in-game shop as a free download on the same day that it releases the expansion packs. Players will be able to obtain points through various means - performance level of their character, filling out questionnaires, winning tournaments - which they can use to purchase character clothing, head gear, body armor and gear at the Reward Shop.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now