Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Massive to make MMOs for Ubisoft

Fri 14 Nov 2008 11:14am GMT / 6:14am EST / 3:14am PST
Business

Guillemot suggests plans to start small in online market

Ubisoft boss Yves Guillemot has suggested that Massive Entertainment - the Swedish developer Ubi acquired from Activision Blizzard this week - will be put to work making MMOs.

"We just bought it from them since those guys have Blizzard so they didn't need that studio as much as we do, and those guys are extremely strong in RTS, so they are going to help us also get closer to the MMO space," said Guillemot.

But it seems Guillemot won't be tasking Massive with making his company's World of Warcraft just yet, according to Kotaku.

"Our goal there is to go first with light MMOs... that have been extremely popular in China but are also coming in the U.S. and Europe and are generating lots of good revenue, so our goal is first to start with light MMOs, and then in the future also come with RPG and RTS, also in the MMO space," Guillemot said.

In the past, the French publishing magnate has said that a Tom Clancy MMO was high on his to-do list, a project that would seem appropriate for World in Conflict developer Massive.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now