Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Massive Entertainment founder leaves studio

Tue 17 Mar 2009 9:59am GMT / 5:59am EDT / 2:59am PDT
Development

Ubisoft "saddened" by departure of Martin Walfiz from World in Conflict studio

Founder of Massive Entertainment, Martin Walfiz, has left the studio and its parent company Ubisoft.

The publisher confirmed the departure to GamesIndustry.biz this morning, but would not offer any reason for the move.

"Ubisoft is saddened by the recent departure of Martin Walfiz from Massive Entertainment and we wish him all the best in his future projects," said the company.

Ubisoft swooped for Massive Entertainment in November of last year, after Activision Blizzard put the studio up for sale as part of a wider streamlining initiative. It's expected that the real-time strategy developer is concentrating on the online space and will help Ubisoft take its first steps in the MMO market.

Massive was founded in 1997 and employs around 120 staff in Malmo, Sweden. As well as the World in Conflict series, Massive created acclaimed PC franchise Ground Control.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now