Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Marvelous reaps greater profits from PSP than Wii in 2009

Fri 20 Nov 2009 9:30am GMT / 4:30am EST / 1:30am PST
BusinessPublishing

Company reports 4 out of 5 PSP titles were profitable, 3 out of 4 Wii games weren't

Japanese publisher Marvelous Entertainment has revealed its PSP games have been far more profitable for the company than its Wii releases in 2009.

Of its five PSP releases in the fiscal first half, four have returned profits for the company, it said. However, from its four Wii releases, only one has delivered a return.

Data presented to investors and reported by Siliconera, show that Marvelous's PSP games sold in higher units than its Wii titles. Combined with lower development costs, the games, in turn, delivered profits.

In Japan, PSP titles Hitman Reborn! Battle Arena 2 and Half-Minute Hero sold 41,000 and 70,000 units respectively.

The Wii's Little King's Story, used as a comparison, sold just 26,000 units in Japan. Although it did fare better in Europe where sales of 67,000 were achieved.

As well as having lower development costs, Marvelous added that it believes its PSP games did better because they were based on established IPs.

Next year, the company will release its first multi-platform PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 titles, No More Heroes: Hero's Paradise in Japan, and Deadly Premonition in North America.

1 Comment

Jim Webb
Executive Editor/Community Director

2,210 2,049 0.9
Muramasa: The Demon Blade is a Wii title, not PSP.

And is this supposed to be Japan only? All the Marvelous Entertainment titles that hit the US sell well within the margins of expected profits.

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now