Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Mario Kart Wii debuts with 594k sales in Japan

Thu 17 Apr 2008 7:46am GMT / 3:46am EDT / 12:46am PDT
Retail

First week figures show strong sales for the title and for Nintendo as a whole

Mario Kart Wii has topped the Japanese software charts selling nearly 600,000 units in its first week, according to the latest chart data from Media Create.

Nintendo's Wii racer is dominating the sales charts, selling 594,000 units in Japan after only being released a week ago. The game is followed by Capcom's Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G for the PSP which sold a further 222,000 units bringing sales totals to 1,590,000 copies.

Wii Fit was fourth on the charts selling 31,000 units, while Deca Sporta and Super Smash Bros. - also for the Wii - sold 17,000 and 14,000 units respectively.

The rest of the top 30 is mostly dominated by Nintendo DS titles, followed by Wii, with Touchstone's Turok the only Xbox 360 game in the top 30 at 29.

The top ten for Japan follows:

1. Mario Kart Wii

2. Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G

3. Musou Orochi: The Evil King Returns

4. Wii Fit

5. Pokémon Ranger: Batonnage

6. Tottado! Yowiko's Deserted Island Life

7. Pro Baseball Spirits 5

8. Star Ocean 2: Second Evolution

9. Deca Sporta

10. Super Smash Bros. Brawl

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now