Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Mario Kart retains Japanese software number 1

Thu 24 Apr 2008 7:49am GMT / 3:49am EDT / 12:49am PDT
Retail

Wii title sells another 200,000 copies, while Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G edges towards a 2 million total

Mario Kart Wii is top of the Japanese software chart, after selling another 202,000 copies in the week ending April 20, according to Media Create.

Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G was second, shifting another 125,000 copies, passing the 1.7 million sales mark in total, while third place went to a new entry - We're Fossil Diggers for the Nintendo DS sold 32,000 units.

Wii Fit took fourth place, falling just shy of 1.9 million units in lifetime sales, with Musou Orochi: The Evil King Returns falling two places to fifth - the second of only two non-Nintendo platform titles in the top ten.

DS pair Pokemon Ranger: Batonnage and Beautiful Letter Training were sixth and seventh respectively, while the Wii trio of Deca Sports, Super Smash Bros Brawl and Wii Sports rounded out the top ten.

The full top ten list is as follows:

  • 1. Mario Kart Wii (Wii)
  • 2. Monster Hunter Portable 2nd G (PSP)
  • 3. We're Fossil Diggers (DS)
  • 4. Wii Fit (Wii)
  • 5. Musou Orochi: The Evil King Returns (PS2)
  • 6. Pokemon Ranger: Batonnage (DS)
  • 7. Beautiful Letter Training (DS)
  • 8. Deca Sports (Wii)
  • 9. Super Smash Bros Brawl (Wii)
  • 10. Wii Sports (Wii)

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now