Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

LittleBigPlanet UK release set for November 5

Mon 20 Oct 2008 3:49pm GMT / 11:49am EDT / 8:49am PDT
RetailGames

Sony Europe confirms game due two days before Xbox 360 shooter Gears of War 2

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

After issuing a statement that LittleBigPlanet would be released in Europe no later than the week beginning November 3, Sony Europe has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that the game will be available in the UK on Wednesday November 5.

The game was officially delayed last week from its original launch of October 24 due to soundtrack lyrics which referenced the Qur'an.

Although games in the UK are usually released on a Friday, some titles are released mid-week to mark the occasion as a retail event.

However, in such a busy retail period, industry watchers will be aware that the Sony exclusive now goes on sale just two days before Microsoft's exclusive sequel Gears of War 2, providing a head-to-head charts battle for the following weeks.

The new release date won't be that important to some dedicated gamers. Copies of the game are already exchanging hands on eBay for inflated prices.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now