Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Left 4 Dead 2 quality suffers as result of Australian censorship

Thu 19 Nov 2009 8:58am GMT / 3:58am EST / 12:58am PST
Politics

Edited game receives poor reviews down under

The censored version of Left 4 Dead 2 released in Australia after the country's ratings board refused it classification has been slated by users.

According to a review by IGN, the game has been "butchered" in order to remove elements such as wound detail, decapitations and dead bodies.

The resulting game is a "hollow shell of a game," according to the review, that "isn't worth the plastic the disc is printed on."

Developer Valve endured a lengthy process of submissions to get the game released in Australia, but its appeal was refused last month by the Classification Review Board.

"It was the Review Board’s opinion that there was insufficient delineation between the depiction of general zombie figures and the human figures, as opposed to the clearly fictional ‘infected’ characters," it concluded.

In Australia, the maximum age rating for a game is 15+ and games that don't meet that criteria are refused classification.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now