Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Lanning confirms new Oddworld title

Tue 27 May 2008 9:23am GMT / 5:23am EDT / 2:23am PDT

Franchise to return, although president is quiet on details

Lorne Lanning, president of Oddworld Inhabitants, has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that the studio is working on new game based on the highly-regarded Oddworld franchise.

Reports of a new title emerged last week, following a speech given by Maxis co-founder Jeff Braun at Wilfrid Laurier University, where the industry vet revealed that he was working with Lanning's studio.

"I can confirm that we're working with Jeff on Oddworld stuff, but that's all I can say at this time," offered Lanning.

Braun stated that the new title would use development tools able to create content on a par with movie animation, with assets suited for both film and games.

"The rendering tools are getting so good now for 3D animation that you can literally create a linear animation and create a video game using the exact same objects," he said.

Oddworld is currently working on Citizen Siege, a title that has been conceived as a game and CG movie from its early stages.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now