Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Krome Studios confirms more lay-offs

Fri 23 Apr 2010 7:46am GMT / 3:46am EDT / 12:46am PDT
Development

Reports suggest as many as 50 staff have been made redundant at Game Room developer

Australian developer Krome Studios has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that it has been forced to axe more staff due to economic pressure.

"We regret to confirm an unspecified number of positions have been eliminated today at Krome," said a spokesperson for the company. "The industry worldwide is facing new challenges and Krome is not immune to the effects of this. Beyond that, we cannot make a comment."

Although it was unwilling to offer further details, reports from IGN and Ausgamers put the number of layoffs between 30 and 50 employees.

The company has recently completed work on Microsoft's Xbox Live Games Room, and is taking advantage of Havok's new cost-saving independent developer program.

The company had already let a number of staff go at the end of last year, blaming declining game sales across the industry.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now