Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kotick jokes about 'even higher' prices

Fri 07 Aug 2009 7:29am GMT / 3:29am EDT / 12:29am PDT
BusinessPublishing

Activision Blizzard CEO takes a shot at critics of Modern Warfare 2 price point

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Robert Kotick, CEO of Activision Blizzard, has taken a shot at critics of the next Call of Duty's higher than standard price point by joking about pushing them up "even further".

The quip came as part of the publisher's Q2 earnings conference call, when Piper Jaffray's Tony Gikas asked about the company's "comfort level regarding pricing of some of your new games".

Mike Griffith, Activision Publishing CEO, replied: "On the pricing, we've had for all of our launch titles in the back half of this year, some of which contain peripherals, as you point out, very strong retailer acceptance and support for all parts of our plan, including our merchandising plans, our marketing programs, and our price points."

To which Kotick then added: "And Tony, you know if it was left to me, I would raise the prices even further."

Those comments, while not to be taken seriously, may however be seen as insensitive at a time when consumers are likely to be feeling the economic pinch.

The publisher reported higher-than-expected revenues of over USD 1 billion for the three months to the end of June this year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now