Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Kotick hits back at Warner Music

Fri 15 Aug 2008 3:54pm GMT / 11:54am EDT / 8:54am PDT
Business

Activision Blizzard's CEO says music companies need to appreciate the market videogames has opened to them

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Blizzard's CEO Robert Kotick has struck back at Warner Bros for saying it should be paid higher royalties for use of its songs by videogames - a move that would affect games like Guitar Hero.

Kotick said Warner Music had failed to acknowledge the benefits to music sales from Guitar Hero, according to the Financial Times. The Activision Blizzard boss said the Warner Music's chief executive had made comments that were not "respectful of how much we've done to bring new audiences into the market".

"I think his view was...that [Warner Music] should be compensated the way they might for a performance on iTunes. But this is an entirely different business that is very technically complex. We're going to favour those publishers that recognise and appreciate how much we can add value to their artists," said Kotick.

"We're introducing a whole new group of artists to new audiences that is resulting in their iTunes downloads being exponentially higher than they would otherwise be, [as well as] new album sales and new merchandising opportunities."

1 Comment

Catherine Goode Technical Designer, SCEE Team Soho

7 5 0.7

They obviously quickly forgot they brought that Guitar Hero license.. not created it!

Posted:6 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now