Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kotick confirms DJ Hero for this year

Fri 30 Jan 2009 5:01pm GMT / 12:01pm EST / 9:01am PST
Games

Latest in best-selling music franchise to ship with turntable peripheral

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision's CEO Bobby Kotick has confirmed that the long-rumoured DJ Hero game is in production.

Like the best-selling Guitar Hero franchise, DJ Hero will ship with a specially made peripheral allowing users to play along to recorded music.

"We have this product called DJ Hero coming out later this year which is a turntable that you can actually play competitively, spin discs and mix on," revealed Kotick speaking to CNBC.

He added that peripherals and online play were helping the company to reach wider audiences and grow the videogame market.

"This physical interface is definitely starting to have a real impact on the consumer.

"Online is creating a much more social experience than videogames have had before. You're continuing to see lots of innovation that's adding lots of new audiences."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now