Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Kinect used to promote Chevrolet Volt

Thu 24 Jun 2010 9:23am GMT / 5:23am EDT / 2:23am PDT
Advertising

New electric car to feature in online ads and as download in Kinect Joy Ride

Microsoft has announced the first Kinect-specific advertising campaign in a new deal with American car maker Chevrolet, which will see the new Chevrolet Volt electric car featured in upcoming game Kinect Joy Ride.

The deal was unveiled at the 2010 Cannes Lions International Advertising Festival and involves a standard video advertisement on the Xbox Live dashboard and on the Xbox website. After viewing the advert users are then able to unlock the Chevrolet Volt in the game.

"Kinect allows us to bring the excitement of the showroom to the living rooms of our customers. Itís a way for us to replicate the experience of physically engaging with a product that is essential to the customerís purchasing decision," said Jim Campbell, US vice president of Chevrolet marketing.

The Kinect promotion is only one of several agreed between Microsoft and Chevrolet, with other initiatives involving the Windows Phone 7 and Bing. Additional advertising for the new car will make use of Microsoft's Pivot technology, part of Microsoft Silverlight.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now