Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Just Cause studio confirms free online title

Thu 18 Sep 2008 10:56am GMT / 6:56am EDT / 3:56am PDT
Development

Avalanche and Emote partner for hunting game played partly in browser

Just Cause developer Avalanche Studios has officially confirmed it's working with Emote on a free online hunting game for the PC, with a mobile and console version due at a later date.

The title was originally revealed to GamesIndustry.biz earlier this year by the studios development director Oskar Burman.

The Hunter will be published by Emote Games, with a beta phase scheduled for next month, and intends to supply players with social networking tools to build a community of hunters online.

"Emote is passionate about making this game as true to life as possible, so when it came to choosing a development partner, we wanted to ensure we were working with the best," commented Morgan O'Rahilly, CEO of Emote Games.

"We are currently in discussions with hunting communities across the US to develop long-term mutual partnerships with experts and suppliers to make The Hunter the world's best hunting game."

The game will use a version of Avalanche's in-house technology and be partly played in a web browser.

"Using our next-generation landscape engine we are able to recreate the 'out in the field' hunting experience that includes a wide range of weather, animal behaviour and terrain that can be shared within the gaming community as well as across other popular social networks to extend this phenomenally rich game experience," detailed Christofer Sundberg, founder of Avalanche.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now