Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

John Smedley to keynote GDC Austin

Fri 07 Aug 2009 8:50am GMT / 4:50am EDT / 1:50am PDT
Events

Sony Online Entertainment boss to discuss challenges in putting together Free Realms

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Think Services has announced the latest keynote to be added to this year's GDC Austin event, talking place in September, as Sony Online Entertainment president John Smedley.

The session, entitled "From Dragons and Daggers to Kart Racing, Cooking and Concerts... It's a Whole New MMO World," will look at the challenges associated with putting together an MMO for kids, based on learnings from its latest success, Free Realms.

The discussion will cover market research, focus testing, business intelligence, online and retail distribution, and customer acquisition and retention strategies.

Other key sessions recently announced include the Frank Pearce/J Allen Brack talk on operating Blizzard's World of Warcraft.

The event takes place across September 15-18 at the Austin Convention Center, Austin, Texas.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now