Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Japanese Wii video service coming to other countries

Fri 01 May 2009 7:09am GMT / 3:09am EDT / 12:09am PDT
Online

Localised services may include the same Japanese programming

Nintendo president Satoru Iwata has said that the Wii video streaming service, called Wii-no-Ma in Japan, will eventually see release outside of that region.

In the video announcement GamesIndustry.bizfirst reported on yesterday, Iwata revealed that while Wii-no-Ma's May 1 availability is limited only to Japan, plans are already underway to expand the service to other countries.

"Wii-no-Ma service is available only in Japan at the start, but the overseas deployment is under planning in the future," said Iwata.

Additionally, Iwata revealed that global versions of the service may include the same original Japanese programming as Wii-no-Ma, saying "As Japanese videogames, anime or manga are very favoured all over the world, we also anticipate a great possibility of same spread for video programmes."

Wii-no-Ma is an interactive video streaming service launching in Japan today. Upon release, only original video content will be available, though repurposed and legacy content from major Tokyo networks will come to the service after it has been firmly established.

The service aims to further expand the Wii's potential audience by giving those who may not be interested in videogames a reason to use the Wii. For more information, please refer to our previous report.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now