Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Iwata: Wii sales decline down to lack of "big titles"

Tue 04 Aug 2009 8:04am GMT / 4:04am EDT / 1:04am PDT
Hardware

Nintendo isn't planning hardware price drop in response to sales drop, confirms company president

Nintendo president Satoru Iwata has explained what he thinks is to blame for the current slowdown in Wii sales.

Speaking to investors (as reported by Kotaku), Iwata said, "It's not the case of the quality of hardware moved, the feeling of missing strong competitive power, lacking its luster or poor sales.

"Consistently, big time titles will be released in the marketplace for this hardware. When that stops, to reinvigorate the console, or to put it another way, I think the current decline in hardware sales is due to the fact that there aren't many big titles (at the moment)."

There are, however, no plans by Nintendo to respond to the sales drop by reducing the price of Wii hardware. "Right now there aren't a lot of discussions going on about what exactly to do about hardware pricing," Iwata said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now