Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Iwata discusses motion sensing DS successor

Wed 06 Jan 2010 9:12am GMT / 4:12am EST / 1:12am PST
HardwarePublishing

Next generation of portable Nintendo consoles will be able to read the movements of players, says Nintendo president

Satoru Iwata has told a Japanese newspaper that the next generation of Nintendo handhelds will have to be able to read the movements of players.

Although the Nintendo president declined to comment on when the company's first post-DS handheld might be released, he said, in comments translated by Kotaku, that it would need "highly detailed graphics, and it will be necessary to have a sensor with the ability to read the movements of people playing".

Nintendo is known to be exploring specific options for the hardware on its next, non-DS handheld, which would fit the graphics bill. Eurogamer's Digital Foundry reported on insider information and analysis late last year.

Today's Japanese newspaper piece also stated that the next Legend of Zelda game, briefly trailed at E3 last year and as-yet unnamed, will be released this year, although it did not specify whether it was referring to Japan or the whole world.

Consumers should also expect the release of the Vitality Sensor too, with a press conference this July followed by a release as soon as possible.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now