Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

iPhone developers protest against Langdell

Thu 12 Nov 2009 9:33am GMT / 4:33am EST / 1:33am PST
Politics

A host of games now renamed to include "Edge" in tags or titles in IP demonstration

A number of iPhone developers apparently incensed by litigious Edge Games boss Tim Langdell have renamed their games to include the word "Edge".

Fez, for example, is now called Fedge: "To better represent the edgy nature and aesthetic the game, and edges of squares and cubes, Polytron is proud to announce the name change from Fez to FEDGE!" the game's website explained.

"We at Polytron Corporation are at the edge of everything, at the edge of other edges, so it only make sense to reflect this edgyness in our product's name, which is now Fedge.

"Tags: edge, edge of edge, edgy, edgy edge edge edge edge, fedge, fez."

Other games undergoing rebranding, according to links collected by Touch Arcade, include Eliss (sequel to be called Edgeliss), Closure (now "Closure: on the EDGE of reality"), Dismount (sequel "Ledge Dismount"), Edgeward McEdgington and Critter Crunch (now Critter Credge).

Tim Langdell's name rose to infamy earlier this year when word spread of his attempts to prevent French developer Mobigame from calling its game "Edge", as catalogued in our extensive feature on the subject.

Electronic Arts got involved recently, petitioning to have Langdell's series of Edge-related trademarks cancelled following attacks on its game Mirror's Edge.

However, that hasn't stopped Langdell pressing on with other actions, including one against PuzzleKings over Killer Edge Racing, which seems to have inspired developers to take a stand this week.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now