Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

iPad sales near half million mark

Fri 09 Apr 2010 9:23am GMT / 5:23am EDT / 2:23am PDT
RetailHardware

"We can't make enough of them yet", laments Jobs at Apple conference

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

Apple has sold 450,000 iPads since the US launch of the device; with the company already experiencing stock problems due to high demand.

Speaking at an Apple press event, at which the iPhone OS 4 was also previewed, CEO Steve Jobs admitted that the company was finding it difficult to keep up with demand.

The $499 device sold 300,000 units in its first day, including pre-orders, with 1 million apps downloaded in the first 24 hours and 3.5 million in total so far.

"Our [manufacturing] ramp is going well, but evidently we can't make enough of them yet," said Jobs - as quoted by website Gamasutra.

An alternative version of the iPad hardware featuring 3G compatibility is expected to be released in the U.S. later this month. The basic wi-fi enabled iPad is also due for release in Europe in April.

"It feels great to have the iPad launched into the world—it’s going to be a game changer," said Jobs following the iPad's initial release. "iPad users, on average, downloaded more than three apps and close to one book within hours of unpacking their new iPad."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now