Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

inXile hires former Microsoft exec for new division

Thu 08 May 2008 8:32am GMT / 4:32am EDT / 1:32am PDT
Development

Line Rider developer launches online network for user-generated content

Line Rider developer inXile has formed a new online business headed up by ex-Microsoft executive David Heeley.

Heeley will oversee the creation SparkWorkz, an online network and community as an outlet for user-generated content and creativity.

"Our goal is to construct a highly entertaining and engaging online destination for people to show off their creative talents across a number of different game and non-game media environments," said Brian Fargo, chief executive officer of inXile.

"Our experience with the internet sensation Line Rider proves that there is a very large demand for mediums that can allow people to showcase their artistic talents. Today there are over 50,000 videos of Line Rider creations on YouTube alone, with the top track bringing in over 7,000,000 views."

He added: "Fostering and serving this talent pool is a top priority for us, while providing advertisers and marketers with innovative opportunities to be part of this community."

At Microsoft Heeley was responsible for establishing MSN and Windows Live in Southeast Asia.

"The success of SparkWorkz and inXile will be achieved by delivering on our vision to bring fans of high quality, user-generated content throughout the world closer to the people, information and activities that matter to them - where, when and how they want it," said Heeley.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now