Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Infogrames offers to buy Atari Inc.

Fri 07 Mar 2008 1:22am GMT / 8:22pm EST / 5:22pm PST

Atari Inc. has announced that it received a letter from Infogrames Entertainment S.A., the company's majority shareholder, expressing its intent to acquire the remaining outstanding stock of the company

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Atari Inc has announced that it received a letter from Infogrames Entertainment SA, the company's majority shareholder, expressing its intent to acquire the remaining outstanding stock of the company.

Infogrames' offer, which is non-binding, amounts to USD 1.68 per share for the Atari Inc stock it does not own.

Atari Inc said that a special committee of the company's board of directors intends to undertake, together with its advisors, a thorough evaluation of the proposal.

There is no assurance that any transaction will occur or to the terms of any transaction.

The Infogrames business is currently in the midst of a resurgence lead by the vision of new CEO David Gardner.

Gardner has placed great value on the Atari brand, and intends to rebuild the struggling company as a destination for online gaming.

This week former Sony executive Phil Harrison joined Infogrames as president, where he will oversee software development and other creative aspects of the business.

Gardner spoke to GamesIndustry.biz at the start of the week, and the full interview can be read here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now