Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

In-game ads division hit by Microsoft staff cull

Wed 06 May 2009 2:09pm GMT / 10:09am EDT / 7:09am PDT
Business

Massive sees headcount reduced as 3000 job losses sweep company

Massive, the in-game ads firm bought by Microsoft in 2006, has had its headcount cut by around 75 per cent, or just over 100 people, reports Venture Beat.

The cull is part of Microsoft's ongoing efforts to reduce costs, with the company informing another 3000 staff yesterday that they were due for the axe. 1400 jobs went in January this year, which included employees at game outfits ACES, Rare and Games for Windows Live.

According to an internal email reprinted by cnet, CEO Steve Ballmer indicated that further job cuts outside of the planned 5000 may be necessary.

"As we move forward, we will continue to closely monitor the impact of the economic downturn on the company and if necessary, take further actions on our cost structure including additional job eliminations," he wrote.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now