Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Imagination Technologies working on PSP 2 processors?

Thu 27 Nov 2008 10:57am GMT / 5:57am EST / 2:57am PST
Hardware

Speculation mounts around tech firms latest deal with "a major international consumer electronics company"

Imagination Technologies Group, licensor of graphics processor cores, is rumoured to be working with Sony on the latest iteration of the PlayStation Portable.

The company recently issued a press release stating that it was working with "a major international consumer electronics company", which is now rumoured to be Sony, according to EETimes.

Citing unnamed sources, the announcement is for an upgrade to the "PSP2" says the report, but Imagination would only state it is for a "high-volume consumer device".

Although the report mentions PSP2, it isn't clear whether the technology would be for an entirely new iteration of the handheld hardware, or a remodel of the orginal, such as the PSP 3000.

Imagination Technologies' licensing partners include Sega Sammy, Intel and Samsung.

Sony Europe has told GamesIndustry.biz that it will not "comment on rumour and speculation".

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now