Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

HP sells more PCs than Dell in 2007

Thu 17 Jan 2008 4:29pm GMT / 11:29am EST / 8:29am PST

Hewlett-Packard sold more personal computers than Dell in 2007, after the two companies split the market the prior year

HP

HP is a technology company that operates in more than 170 countries around the world. We explore how...

hp.com

Hewlett-Packard sold more personal computers than Dell in 2007, after the two companies split the market the prior year.

According to Stamford, Connecticut-based research firm Gartner Inc., Hewlett-Packard had 18.2 per cent of the market compared with Dell's 14.3 per cent. Im 2006, each company had 15.9 per cent of the market.

"HP established a solid number one position in 2007,'' Gartner analyst Mikako Kitagawa told Bloomberg. "Robust consumer and mobile PC sales across all regions were two main drivers of HP's overall growth.''

Another research firm, IDC, has released PC figures showing Hewlett-Packard with a market share of 18.8 per cent compared to a 14.9 per cent share for Dell.

Taiwan's Acer, which bought Gateway last year, beat out Lenovo Group Ltd. for third place, with Toshiba in the fifth position.

Gartner said that HP's PC shipments climbed 30 per cent last year; Dell's 1.7 per cent increase was the lowest rate among the top five PC manufacturers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now