Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

HP partners with Trion for online games service

Thu 01 Mar 2007 12:45pm GMT / 7:45am EST / 4:45am PST

Trion World Network, the company founded by ex-EA online exec Lars Buttler, is teaming with Hewlett Packard to build its multi-platform gaming service.

Trion World Network, the company founded by ex-EA online exec Lars Buttler, is teaming with Hewlett Packard to build its multi-platform gaming service.

Aiming to combine online games, broadband and traditional media, the service hopes to deliver a gaming experience accessible from a wide range of hardware devices.

"HP fundamentally understands what the next-generation of infrastructure and consumer technology needs to look like for a revolutionary customer experience in interactive entertainment," said CEO Buttler.

"We are anxious to leverage HP's unique and powerful presence in the consumer market for gaming devices and consumer electronics products," he added.

Prior to establishing Trion, Buttler was vice president for global online at Electronic Arts, and responsible for the success of the MMO Ultima Online.

Also on the Trion executive team is Jon Van Canegham, previously the CEO of New World Computing, where he oversaw the publishing of more than 250 titles, and created the Might and Magic franchise.

"The opportunities for transforming interactive entertainment are exploding," commented Matthew Lane, director of communication and media at HP.

"Trion will lead the industry a step further by developing technology that will dramatically alter the way interactive entertainment is produced, consumed and monetised."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now