Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

HMV: MW2 stock will not be shipped early

Thu 05 Nov 2009 12:15pm GMT / 7:15am EST / 4:15am PST
Retail

Retailer responds to reports it has broken street date for title

HMV has clarified that no copies of Modern Warfare 2 have been sent to customers, despite official emails stating otherwise.

"Some customers may have received an email alert suggesting that the dispatch process is under way, but the stock has not yet been sent," a spokesperson for the retailer told Eurogamer.

"Fulfilling orders will obviously be a major undertaking, and in order to implement this in a timely manner, we have had to initiate the transaction process to begin printing off address labels. This has triggered the email alert, but stock has not been shipped.

"HMV would never knowingly break a street date," the spokesperson added.

Modern Warfare 2 launches on Tuesday, November 10, although some retailers, such as ShopTo, are still awaiting stock.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now