Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Hirai targets 150 million PS3 sales

Mon 21 Jul 2008 7:36am GMT / 3:36am EDT / 12:36am PDT
Hardware

Sony CEO wants to outsell PS2's 140 million milestone

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony's Kaz Hirai has said that the company is targeting PlayStation 3 sales figures of 150 million units during the console's lifecycle.

The PlayStation 2 has sold over 140 million units since it launched nine year's ago, and the original PlayStation hit 102 million units sold.

"It's not fun for me replicating the PS2 numbers. I've seen that movie already," said Hirai, speaking to the FT.com.

"I want to try to see if we can exceed the PS2 numbers after nine years, otherwise why are we in this business?"

Sales of the PlayStation 2 were 12.85 million in March, and the company expects to sell another 10 million by the end of the fiscal year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now