Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Halo 3 UK TV ad detailed

Wed 12 Sep 2007 5:13pm GMT / 1:13pm EDT / 10:13am PDT

Microsoft has announced details on the television ad that will begin showing in the UK from September 18 in order to promote the sale of Halo 3.

Microsoft has announced details on the television ad that will begin showing in the UK from September 18 in order to promote the sale of Halo 3.

Rather than focusing on the traditional graphical or gameplay elements to the game, it's instead using a huge model set to look at "the themes that lie at the heart of the Halo 3 trilogyâ¦war, duty, sacrifice, and most importantly the heroism of Master Chief."

The diorama was built in the same studio that was responsible for the Alien and Jurassic Park models, and takes up over 400 square feet of room, with figures standing eight inches tall, and the whole set standing 12 feet tall.

Stephen McGill, head of gaming and entertainment for Microsoft UK, commented: "I'm sure the epic shots and dramatic scenes in the commercial will be a hit with Halo fans and newcomers to the franchise alike, giving them just a taste of what they have to look forward to when the game comes out."

The game is due for release in the UK on September 26, and several midnight launch events are expected, although none have yet been detailed.

Meanwhile gamers will have the opportunity to view the advert several days before it debuts on television, as it's going to be shown on xbox.com on September 14 at 5pm.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now