Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Halcyon plans games based on Philip K Dick novels

Fri 23 May 2008 3:16pm GMT / 11:16am EDT / 8:16am PDT
Games

Two titles in production based on work of acclaimed sci-fi author

Halcyon Company - the movie production outfit with first options on films based on the stories of Philip K Dick - is also planning videogames of the sci-fi author's work.

According to a report in The Guardian, the company plans at least two games based on Dick's work, alongside a major animation and two movies.

"Philip's daughters have never allowed anyone this kind of access before," commented Victor Kubicek, joint CEO of Halcyon. "Until we closed the deal we didn't realise how coveted the library was in Hollywood."

The company is currently working on games based on the movie Terminator Salvation: The Future Begins, due for release next year.

Dick's work has been used for games before. Electronic Arts published Blade Runner in 1999 and French firm Cryo adapted Ubik in 1998. Only a handful of his 44 novels and 120 short stories have been adapted for cinema, the most notable of which include Blade Runner, A Scanner Darkly and Total Recall.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now